LD-16 Assembly Seats Go True Blue!

Andrew Zwicker and Roy Freiman will represent the 16th Legislative District in Trenton, as they beat their Republican opponents to become the first Democratic running mates to both be swept into office. NJ.com reports the vote counts with 100% of the precincts reporting:


Andrew ZwickerRoy Freiman

Andrew Zwicker     31,974

Roy Freiman          30,548

Donna Simon         28,905

Mark Caliguire       28,312

In Princeton, Zwicker and Freiman took 5,694 and 5,480 votes, respectively. These votes do not include vote by mail ballots, which were unavailable on Tuesday night.

It took a long time, but NJ.com finally called the LD-16 Senate race lateTuesday night, showing our Democratic candidate Laurie Poppe a mere 1,904 votes behind five-term incumbent Kip Bateman. Voting machine counts gave Laurie 5,356 Princeton votes versus 1,457 for Bateman.

Princeton's turnout for our next governor Phil Murphy was equally impressive, with the Murphy-Oliver team gaining 5,599 voting machine ballots compared to 1,207 for Guadagno-Rendo.

In the local races, uncontested candidates for Princeton Council David Cohenand Leticia Fraga scored 5,604 and 5,570 votes, respectively -- an indication of the hard work they put into the campaign and the effort they made to personally reach out to as many of our citizens as possible.

Finally, the results from voting machine ballots for the school board race broke down as follows:

Beth Behrend                       3,106

Jess Deutsch                        2,905

Michelle Tuck-Ponder           2,694

Jenny Ludmer                      2,084

Julie Ramirez                       2,005

James Fields                        1,178

These results are not official and do not include vote by mail responses received by the Mercer County Clerk.

Congratulations to all our candidates! We are so proud of all of them. 

But a big congratulations to all our volunteers. You took the anger and the pain of the past year and channeled it into victory!

( )

PCDO 50th Anniversary Celebration

Sep 23 2017 6:00 pm

Join us to celebrate 50 years of Democratic activism and participation!  

Time:       6 PM

Location:  Italian-American Sportsmen's Club
                8 Founders Lane
                Princeton, NJ 08540



LD 16 Democrats HQ Opening BBQ

Jun 25 2017 5:00 pm


Sunday, June 25th


166 Bunn Dr.
Princeton, NJ 08540


Event is free and open to the public

Food and refreshments will be provided

Contact Kyle at kgardner@fiftyone-p.com to RSVP


Recap of PCDO Endorsement for Assembly, County, and Municipal Candidates

On March 19, 2017 PCDO members heard from candidates running in the Democratic primary at three different levels of government.

David Cohen and Leticia Fraga received our endorsement for Princeton Council. Assemblyman Andrew Zwicker received the PCDO's endorsement for NJ LD-16 after describing his vision for the state's future, as did assembly candidate Roy Freiman and senate candidate Laurie Poppe. Also appearing and receiving the PCDO's endorsement were Mercer County Freeholders John Cimino and Lucy Walter and Mercer County Sheriff John A. (Jack) Kemler.

Princeton Mayor Liz Lempert and Councilwoman Heather Howard reported on Princeton's participation in the Welcoming Cities initiative and other collaborative efforts to support our immigrant neighbors.

A highlight of the program was Asm. Andrew Zwicker discussion how to resist intolerance in the current political climate.


( )

Video of PCDO Forum for 2017 Candidates for Governor

Forum for 2017 Candidates for Governor

( )

Recap of PCDO Gubernatorial Endorsement Vote

On the evening of Sunday, February 12, the Princeton Community Democratic Organization held its gubernatorial candidate forum and endorsement meeting at the Suzanne Patterson Center in Princeton. More than 300 people attended the standing-room only event, with some being turned away at the door. The forum featured four leading Democratic candidates for governor: Jim Johnson, Raymond Lesniak, Phil Murphy, and John Wisniewski. The PCDO’s First Vice President, Dwaine Williamson, moderated the event. After the candidates each delivered short opening statements, Williamson asked them questions supplied by the crowd, ranging over such topics as immigration, the Affordable Care Act, charter schools, pension reform, and the recently enacted gas tax. While each of the candidates offered their own visions and proposals, they were unified in their rejection of the Christie administration and in their commitment to electing a strong Democratic candidate as governor of New Jersey.

After a first round of voting by members of the PCDO, Murphy and Wisniewski faced off in a run-off, which Wisniewski won, earning just over 60% of the vote, the necessary amount to earn the organization’s endorsement. The meeting was broadcast live through Facebook, and a video of the gubernatorial forum is available on the PCDO’s Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/PrincetonDemocrats/.

Before the forum, Assemblyman Andrew Zwicker spoke about the current political situation and upcoming race in LD-16

Future monthly meetings of the PCDO will be held on March 19, April 23, May 21, and June 11 at 7 p.m. at the Suzanne Patterson Center. The March 19 meeting will feature a Candidate Forum and Membership Endorsement Votes for Local Races. At the April 23 meeting, Brandie Canes-Wrone, the Donald E. Stokes Professor of Public and International Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School, Princeton, will speak on the impact of campaign donors on congressional and presidential behavior.

( )