PCDO Princeton Council Candidate Forum

Mar 17 2019 6:30 pm

Make a difference and come to the PCDO Council Candidate Endorsement Forum.
Hear from four excellent candidates and be a part of the PCDO endorsement vote to follow.

One MUST be an active member of the PCDO no later than March 3rd
(two weeks prior to the event) to be eligible for the endorsement vote.




PCDO Endorses State and County Candidates

Five Democratic candidates seeking reelection at state and county levels appeared before the PCDO membership on February 10 to share their respective visions and priorities for the future. After their remarks, each candidate answered a variety of questions submitted by the audience on topics such as immigration, economic development, taxes, state government working to reduce the tax burden, how our county budget is structured and where our county taxes are allocated, recycling, and more.

The members present voted unanimously to formally endorse each candidate. They are as follows:

  • ENDORSED: NJ Assemblyman Andrew Zwicker
  • ENDORSED: NJ Assemblyman Roy Freiman
  • ENDORSED: Mercer County Freeholder, Andrew Koontz
  • ENDORSED: Mercer County Freeholder, Nina Melker
  • ENDORSED: Mercer County Executive, Brian Hughes

Make a difference and hear our four local council candidates at a forum on Sunday, March 17. Note: Only PCDO members who join or renew prior to March 3 may vote to endorse a candidate. Click here to join and learn more about becoming a PCDO member today!


Assemblymen Andrew Zwicker and Roy Freiman



( )

Princeton Council Candidate Open House Information Session

Feb 10 2019 3:00 pm

Thinking about running for Princeton Council? Or, do you want to learn more about being involved in Democratic politics at the local, county, state and/or national levels?

The Princeton Democratic Municipal Committee and the Princeton Community Democratic Organization (PCDO) are sponsoring an Open House for any Democrat interested in learning all there is to know about running for the two open seats for Princeton Council in 2019 as well as how you can become more involved in helping Democratic candidates get elected. Detailed handouts will be available.

Scotia MacRae and Jean Durbin will lead the discussion and provide information on deadlines and requirements for anyone thinking of running and provide the confidence to take the next step.  

When: Sunday, Feb 10,  3 to 4 pm.
Where: 48 Aiken Avenue, Princeton.  
Questions: 609-468-1720


"Leadership is unlocking people's potential to become better."  --Bill Bradley


For more detailed information about how to run see elections and endorsements - and Democratic Party - note that the process begins as early as February.

2019 Officers and Executive Board Seated at January 20th Reorganization Meeting

The 2019 reorganization meeting for the PCDO was held at the Suzanne Patterson Senior Resource Center on January 20th.  The officers for the coming year are:

Jean Durbin -- President
Mary Anne Greenberg and Jeffrey Oakman -- Vice Presidents
Peter Lindenfeld -- Recording Secretary
Joanna Dougherty -- Corresponding Secretary
Owen O'Donnell -- Treasurer

At-large Executive Board members are Jose Alcantara, Kip Cherry, Liz Cohen, Chris Fistonich, Mark Freda, Dosier Hammond, Bernie Miller, Leighton Newlin, Tommy Parker, Patty Soll, Sheldon Sturges, and Denny Velazquez.

Chairs of standing committees who will also serve on the 2019 Executive Board are Caroline Cleaves (Programming), Maureen Quap (Logistics), and Bill Schofield (Publicity), as does Princeton Democratic Municipal Committee Chair Scotia MacRae.

According to the PCDO bylaws, ex officio members of the Board include duly elected or appointed Democratic municipal officials as well as Democratic officials of the County of Mercer, the State of New Jersey, and the federal government who live in the Princeton, provided they are members of this organization. Included among this group are Mercer County Executive Brian Hughes, Mercer County Freeholder Andrew Koontz, Princeton Mayor Liz Lempert, and Princeton Council members David Cohen, Jenny Crumiller, Leticia Fraga, Eve Niedergang, Tim Quinn, and Dwaine Williamson.

Congratulations to all the officers and Board members. 

( )

















( )













( )