Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman to PCDO: "Resist, Insist, and Persist"



At our February meeting, the PCDO membership endorsed Congresswoman Bonnie Watson Coleman for re-election by acclamation as well as endorsing Senator Robert Menendez in his re-election campaign.  Congresswoman Coleman updated the membership on her commitment to "resist, insist, and persist," and to work for "24 or more" to turn the House blue.  She emphasized holding the President accountable for his executive actions undermining consumer and environmental protections, refusing to enforce sanctions against Russia, and abandoning legal reforms by neutering civil rights enforcement and returning to a regime of privatized prisons.

In addition to Congresswoman Coleman, the members also heard from LALDEF Executive Director Adriana Abizadeh who provided an overview of the struggles facing our immigrant neighbors and the status of DACA legislation. She encouraged us to work hard to elect Democrats in the fall and to continue lobbying congress to act on DACA. 

( )

February Monthly Membership Meeting

PCDO 2018 Endorsement Meeting: Resist and Persist 

with Congresswoman Bonnie Watson Coleman

and LALDEF Executive Director Adriana Abizadeh


The PCDO proudly presents Congresswoman Bonnie Watson Coleman at its 2018 Endorsement Meeting, 7 pm on Sunday, February 11, 2018, at the Suzanne Patterson Center.  The Congresswoman will discuss her significant work in Washington resisting the hatred and sweeping human rights violations stemming from the current administration.

Also joining will be special guest Adriana Abizadeh, Executive Director of the Latin American Legal Defense and Education Fund, who will provide an update on DACA. Join us, be informed, and learn how you can help.

Doors open at 6:30 pm and the program will begin at 7 pm. The event is free and open to the public.

( )

2018 PCDO Officers and At-Large Executive Board Members Elected

2018 PCDO President Jean Durbin and 2017 President (and current treasurer) Owen

O'Donnell flanked by Vice Presidents Dwaine Williamson and Mary Anne Greenberg.


The PCDO reorganization meeting for 2018 was held on January 21st during the traditional potluck supper. Congratulations to the new officer group of:

Jean Durbin -- President
Dwaine Williamson and Mary Anne Greenberg -- Vice Presidents
Peter Lindenfeld -- Recording Secretary
Joanna Dougherty -- Corresponding Secretary
Owen O'Donnell -- Treasurer
Eve Niedergang -- Assistant Treasurer

And our at-large Executive Board members: Jose Alcantara, Kip Cherry, Caroline Cleaves, Liz Cohen, Mark Freda, Paul Gilmore, Dosier Hammond, Bernie Miller, Leighton Newlin, Jeffrey Oakman, Tommy Parker, and Sheldon Sturges.



Assemblyman Roy Freiman with newly elected PCDO President Jean Durbin and

outgoing President Owen O'Donnell.

( )

LD-16 Assembly Seats Go True Blue!

Andrew Zwicker and Roy Freiman will represent the 16th Legislative District in Trenton, as they beat their Republican opponents to become the first Democratic running mates to both be swept into office. reports the vote counts with 100% of the precincts reporting:


Andrew ZwickerRoy Freiman

Andrew Zwicker     31,974

Roy Freiman          30,548

Donna Simon         28,905

Mark Caliguire       28,312

In Princeton, Zwicker and Freiman took 5,694 and 5,480 votes, respectively. These votes do not include vote by mail ballots, which were unavailable on Tuesday night.

It took a long time, but finally called the LD-16 Senate race lateTuesday night, showing our Democratic candidate Laurie Poppe a mere 1,904 votes behind five-term incumbent Kip Bateman. Voting machine counts gave Laurie 5,356 Princeton votes versus 1,457 for Bateman.

Princeton's turnout for our next governor Phil Murphy was equally impressive, with the Murphy-Oliver team gaining 5,599 voting machine ballots compared to 1,207 for Guadagno-Rendo.

In the local races, uncontested candidates for Princeton Council David Cohenand Leticia Fraga scored 5,604 and 5,570 votes, respectively -- an indication of the hard work they put into the campaign and the effort they made to personally reach out to as many of our citizens as possible.

Finally, the results from voting machine ballots for the school board race broke down as follows:

Beth Behrend                       3,106

Jess Deutsch                        2,905

Michelle Tuck-Ponder           2,694

Jenny Ludmer                      2,084

Julie Ramirez                       2,005

James Fields                        1,178

These results are not official and do not include vote by mail responses received by the Mercer County Clerk.

Congratulations to all our candidates! We are so proud of all of them. 

But a big congratulations to all our volunteers. You took the anger and the pain of the past year and channeled it into victory!

( )

Recap of PCDO Endorsement for Assembly, County, and Municipal Candidates

On March 19, 2017 PCDO members heard from candidates running in the Democratic primary at three different levels of government.

David Cohen and Leticia Fraga received our endorsement for Princeton Council. Assemblyman Andrew Zwicker received the PCDO's endorsement for NJ LD-16 after describing his vision for the state's future, as did assembly candidate Roy Freiman and senate candidate Laurie Poppe. Also appearing and receiving the PCDO's endorsement were Mercer County Freeholders John Cimino and Lucy Walter and Mercer County Sheriff John A. (Jack) Kemler.

Princeton Mayor Liz Lempert and Councilwoman Heather Howard reported on Princeton's participation in the Welcoming Cities initiative and other collaborative efforts to support our immigrant neighbors.

A highlight of the program was Asm. Andrew Zwicker discussion how to resist intolerance in the current political climate.


( )

Video of PCDO Forum for 2017 Candidates for Governor

Forum for 2017 Candidates for Governor

( )